What’s Your Motivation?

Vince (2)

“OK, Lord, I think I finally get the picture about being motivated and being a motivator!”  It’s funny how God plants an illustration right in front of us to learn from when we so very need it, whether we think we do or not.  Yes, I do believe God has quite the sense of humor.  I don’t always feel that way during the trial, but usually the lesson often brings a smile ….. eventually 🙂

Pictured above, is one of our horses, Vince, who at the time was getting a lesson in motivation as well as was I.   Vince is the youngest of our furry friends and is going through his terrible two’s.  Just this past week, he once again got into mischief, trying to get those last few morsels of hay in the middle of the hay feeder.  That last morsel was positioned so that in order to get his lips on it, he had to carefully step over the front of the feeder with his two front legs.  Little did he know, until later,  the dilemma he had placed himself in.  As I observed him for some time after he got himself in there, I noticed he wasn’t particularly upset about the whole thing.  The other horses had wandered away from the feeder and were just hanging out after snacking on what was left, probably grabbing a few afternoon zzzz’s.  I was not particularly happy with this young big fella at this point, because I had been down this trail before and it wasn’t full of joy and happiness.  Knowing that we had places to be later that day, I decided I best get at busting him out of there.  I tried a number of coaxing attempts, trying not to do anything too drastic that would scare him and possibly get him hurt.  He wasn’t budging.  He just wasn’t motivated enough to get himself out – it just wasn’t that uncomfortable – yet.   I tried leading him out, shooing him out, many various failed attempts.  Grain didn’t even work which I know he is infatuated with!  Noticing how late it was getting – I decided to at least get the rest of the chores done and put the other horses in their stalls, giving them their nightly grain.  The picture suddenly changed!  Now, apparently, in Vince’s eyes, this was a whole new situation and he was verbally letting me know as you can see by his picture.   His peers were getting their grain.  He wasn’t!  Suddenly, this external motivation lit up Vince’s internal motivation, and he decided he was coming out and getting his grain.  What was apparently comfortable earlier, was now unbearable, because he could see the results the others were getting.  Putting trust in his mentor, which was myself, I was now able to help him maneuver his back legs in between the bars and lead him through the panels I had unbolted.  He came flying out of the feeder unharmed and couldn’t get to his stall fast enough for his reward.

I couldn’t help but relate this incident to George Guzzardo’s recent post, Motivation of a Leader I absolutely love George’s post because it really made me think about the trickle down effect of motivation.  We often hear that motivation is an inside job, and that it’s not some else’s job to motivate you.  It is – and it’s not some one else’s job.  However, it is so difficult to watch people that we work with who want different results, but just can’t seem to get motivated enough to capture them.  We try to encourage them the best we can, lead them to what I feel is the best self directed education out there with the LIFE materials, promote dream building, and even take time to PDCA (plan, do check, and adjust) with them just like I tried to motivate Vince out of the feeder.  Without that driving desire to achieve something different, mediocrity traps us without us even realizing it.

But what about US!?!  Is our own motivation or lack there of if we are comfortable where we are at, keeping others from stretching out of their comfort zone?   Do yourself a favor and PDCA your own motivation by reading George Guzzardo’s Motivation of a Leader.  I love the results the LIFE founders have such as George and Jill Guzzardo.  So what is MY motivation to get those results?  Am I leading by example?  I now have my homework.  How about you?  As George so heartfully wrote, “A leader accepts responsibility for determining their motivation in the present. Motivating yourself can inspire many others to be motivated as well. By mastering the principles of motivation from your past you won’t have any problem being motivated when you live in your future”.

Thanks to George and Jill, Orrin and Laurie Woodward, and the rest of the Policy Council for always leading from the front, motivating us all to become better people!

God’s Blessings,

Tina Raz

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What’s Your Motivation?

  1. Tina,
    I just got done reading George’s blog post on motivation and have really figured out that I need to change the things in my life that I’m not happy with. We just picked up Sammie’s wedding band and are booking the hall and the church for our wedding tomorrow. I just got a huge boost of motivation to change some things! Samantha helped me realize today that I was starting to get in a rut building my business by not having a results focus. My picture has become much more clear. I think sometimes we have the “blinders” on in our lives as to some of the things going on and are unable to see those things without some sort of outside perspective. Today Samantha was that for me :-). I know I have seen other peoples’ success and the picture of their success hasn’t motivated me much, but now that we have a date set… I have a burning desire to get this thing done so that I may serve more people!
    Thank you for taking the time to post this blog Tina!
    God Bless

    • Sounds like you have found a motivator that has grabbed your heart Jeremy 🙂 We are proud to be on this journey together with you and Samantha and look forward to working with you to capture those results! God Bless!

  2. Glenn says:

    Awesome post Tina! Settling for what is good, instead of pursing what is great, is an issue I battle with on a daily basis. I feel blessed that the LIFE Business products, and tremendous leaders like yourself and Bob, are always there encouraging me to strive for greatness!!!

  3. Kevin Stachowiak says:

    I absolutely love this post! I have a big problem with getting motivated and then losing it, and then getting it back and then losing it again. Reading this post makes me realize that I need a bigger motivator. I also realize I need to PDCA, and dream build more often to keep my elephant charging. You and Bob are the perfect example of a motivated couple that keeps there dreams and goals in front of them even when life knocks you down.This is why I’m so thankful we have amazing mentors like You and Bob, that are so willing to help us though this process even know you yourselves are going through heavy burdens! God Bless!

  4. Fantastic post Tina! There are so many things that we can be motivated by but sometimes it just takes dis-comfort to push us over the edge, just like with Vince. I want to thank you and Bob for being a great model of these leadership principles.

  5. Mike Hellweg says:

    Great story and visual Tina! Visual stories are such a gift at helping our vision and motivation. Thanks!

  6. Tina, Great post and picture. George frequently speaks about finding and pushing our own exciter button. Others success is frequently a piece of that motivation as it lets us know what is possible. The other horses getting what they want and Vince missing out because he didn’t want to leave the feeder is a great example of how we can get stuck. Thanks for the post and that Vince for the picture. Have a great day.

  7. Chris Anderson says:

    What a great visual example! Sometimes I think we all need more motivation at times. We all need to be less “comfortable”. 🙂

  8. Chris Anderson says:

    Thank you for your leadership example. I love to here your input as well as Bob’s! You are a powerful partner in the story!

  9. Funny and right to the point! Nothing like learning a lesson and having a laugh at the same time. Your becoming a master at teaching LIFE lessons.

    • Mary Fischer says:

      I agree George, love that horse picture! it tells it all. Just had a birthday yesterday, and remembered what Jill said “we don’t have 1000 years to do this.” Thanks Tina for the great message, I need all I can get.

  10. Brenda Rasmussen says:

    I love your Wisdom- it is easy to be comfortable in unmotivational things- love how Vince stretchs for his wants. Thanks for the lesson. God Bless

  11. Having horses can give you many stories on motivation, being in a rut, and being scared of something. Thank you for giving me a chuckle and looking at things in a new way. I have a 5 year old mare if I re frame her mischief I will have a lot of lessons she has taught me.

  12. I actually got to witness a similar situation this weekend with an equally stubborn member of our family. My stubborn girl has a severe sprained ankle and has to use crutches and refused for 4 days. Then her big sister offered to race her to see who could go the most amount of laps across the house and back. By the end of the day my stubborn girl was flying across the house and back while her sister was telling her that she was too tired to do anymore. Just have someone try and take your reward and you will definitely try and accomplish it first and better.

  13. Tammy says:

    I love the post! It is so true love the story I can totally relate to that. You can get in a rut real easy the Mentor is huge for your success. If you don’t use them you are only hurting your own success. Thanks again for the inspiration. Tammy Pethke

  14. Dennis Cross says:

    i need more mentorin and inspiration like that just gettin back into the swing of things again. love the post . DENNIS CROSS

  15. Dean Strube says:

    Hey Tina we all need a motivator. Thanks for the reminder about looking one, or maybe several. Thanks Dean

  16. Sue says:

    So very, very true. To be or not to be. Motivated, that is. For something different. Thanks, Tina!

Leave a comment